The European Union (EU) is a unique political and economic union of 27 countries. They are located primarily in Europe. The EU's members are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ir eland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

The EU was created in the aftermath of the Second World war. The aims of the EU are to promote peace and the well-being of european citizens. To offer them freedom, security and justice, without internal borders and also controlling external borders.

Promote economic and social progress means to help people earn enough money and get treated fairly.

Anyone from a member state is a citizen of the EU and gets special rights. Develop Europe as an area of freedom, security and justice means to help Europeans to live in safety, without the threat of war. Maintain and build on established EU law means to make laws that protect

peoples rights in the member countries.